Healthy Relationships

I was thinking at lunch today about how being in a healthy relationship is like finding a needle in a haystack, literally. It is so rare nowadays, with so many people breaking up and hopping from one relationship to another that it makes you wonder what’s the point to even being in a relationship. You start thinking to yourself this is not a person I would want to spend the rest of my life with, then the dreadful arguments begin.  The funny thing is, a lot of people think arguments and stress in a relationship are normal.  That blows my mind.  If that’s the case, how can we determine whether or not we are in an unhealthy relationship?

I made a list of things that I would want in partner so I would know it’s a healthy relationship.

Trust and Honesty

Support

Good Communication

Respect

Intimacy

Enjoying Each Other’s Company

I feel dejected after reading this list.  It seems like a tall order to find.  Did I leave anything out?

6 thoughts on “Healthy Relationships

  1. Your list is short compared to mine. I have at least 20 things, and just when I think a guy seems to have a lot of the characteristics I’m looking for, he goes and shows how much of a douche bag he is! lol I actually live in a town in the midwest–about 50,000 people, and internet dating is hard because there isn’t a large pool to choose from, even if you include cities a couple of hours away. A couple of my friends have managed to find guys who seem really nice and treat them well, but I haven’t had much luck. I am looking for dates in a pool of guys, in their early 40’s, some of whom have been married twice already, and are usually looking only for a hook-up and nothing long-term. If I wanted a hook-up, I would take up the 20-somethings on their numerous offers! At least the 20 year olds come right out and tell you they’re looking for sex and don’t try to pretend they want a relationship. I vacillate–my profile is currently hidden on the POF (Plenty of Freaks). I wait awhile, I get back on, I think there must be a guy out there looking for a gal like me. . . I don’t want to give up hope, but the situation seems hopeless. I think there are very few good men on online dating sites. I wish just one would prove me wrong, but it hasn’t happened yet. 🙂

    • It sounds like we’re in the same boat. We’re putting ourselves out there. At the end of the day, that’s all we can do. Maybe the guys for us just haven’t come along yet. That’s probably it;)

  2. My list is pretty similar to yours, in fact, I can’t think of anything I would add. After finding that in someone, and them tossing me to the curb, I too feel dejected. I just need a break. I don’t know whats worse, being alone in ignorant bliss, or being reminded you aren’t good enough for someone, and still being alone.

Leave a Reply

